Deputy Director-General, South African Department of Science and Technology​

A public policy and strategy manager with a focus on innovation, sustainability, social and economic development, and public management and governance.

Employed since 2006 at the South African Department of Science and Technology, he currently holds the position of Deputy Director-General: Socio-Economic Partnerships and represents the department on the social and economic clusters of government and the advisory committee for the Green Fund. He is also a member of the board of the Water Research Commission and the Southern African Science Service Centre for Climate Change and Adaptive Land Management (SASSCAL)

At the DST, he is responsible for strategically driving a portfolio of investments and policies that advances the social and economic development priorities of government through science and technology-based interventions.

Areas of focus include Information and Communications Technologies, Sector Development, Climate Change and Biodiversity, Environmental Technologies, Advanced Manufacturing, Mining and Minerals Beneficiation, Chemicals, Technology Localisation and Innovation for Inclusive Development.